The 2016 Cascadia Cup Schedule

In exciting news for soccer fans, the 2016 Cascadia Cup season has begun! The MLS has announced the schedule for matches between Vancouver Whitecaps, Seattle Sounders, and the Portland Timbers. These matches are for the Cascadia Cup, which was created by supporters of the Vancouver Whitecaps, Portland Timbers and Seattle Sounders in 2004. Cascadia Cup competition has grown to become the largest and fiercest soccer rivalry in the United States and Canada.

The three teams of the Pacific Northwest compete for this regional trophy each year, cheered on by tens of thousands of supporters including the Portland Timber Army, Vancouver Southsiders, the Emerald City Supporters and Gorilla FC in Seattle. The Cascadia Cup has increased in size in scope as the teams have moved up to Major League Soccer.

When the last team joined the MLS in 2011, reigniting the competition. Cascadia Cup matches often feature massive Tifo displays, including regional pride, and of course a healthy dose of competitive flair. Cascadia Cup rivalries are set aside when facing off against teams from outside the region. All members of MLS Cascadia teams band together to enjoy watching teams from Texas, the east coast, or the LA Galaxy get collectively stomped by the superior soccer skills of our three Cascadian teams.

As it currently stands, the Vancouver Whitecaps lead the Cascadia Cup standings, with five Cascadia Cup victories since the competitions 2004 creation. Seattle follows with four and Portland has won the cup three times. 

More information on the matches can be found on our here on our website, in our event calendar, and, of course, on the Cascadia Cup home page:

2016 Cascadia Cup Schedule

Saturday, March 19 – Seattle vs. Vancouver
Saturday, May 7 – Vancouver vs. Portland
Sunday, May 22 – Portland vs. Vancouver
Sunday, July 17 – Portland vs. Seattle
Sunday, Aug. 21 – Seattle vs. Portland
Sunday, Aug. 28 – Portland vs. Seattle
Saturday, Sept. 17 – Seattle vs. Vancouver
Sunday, Oct. 2 – Vancouver vs. Seattle
Sunday, Oct. 23 – Vancouver vs. Portland

Past Winners

2015 – Seattle Sounders
2014 – Vancouver Whitecaps
2013 – Vancouver Whitecaps
2012 – Portland Timbers
2011 – Seattle Sounders
2010 – Portland Timbers
2009 – Portland Timbers
2008 – Vancouver Whitecaps
2007 – Seattle Sounders
2006 – Seattle Sounders
2005 – Vancouver Whitecaps
2004 – Vancouver Whitecaps


Liked it? Take a second to support Cascade Media on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!