Occupied Cascadia is a documentary being released by Cascadia Matters, a collective of artists, writers, educators and media activists from Bend, Oregon which explores the emerging understanding of bioregionalism within the lands and waters of the Northeast Pacific Rim. The filmmakers interweave intimate landscape portraits with human voices both ideological and indigenous. Their feature length documentary is not intended to be representative of the Cascadia movement, but instead add a powerful and compelling argument about a region occupied, and a landbase under siege. The film seeks to highlight the emerging ideas, struggles and times of the Cascadia bioregion and beyond. In order to effectively provide clean air and clean water for future generations, our attention must not only shift towards the bioregions of the Pacific Northwest, but also towards stopping corrosive agendas within them. The diverse voices throughout this land have forged the way for many movements and there is a growing necessity to inspire a unified culture of resistance. This film promotes that dialogue through bioregional awareness.

Stories from the land contrast critique of dominant culture, while an embrace of the radical unknown informs a re-birthed and growing culture of resistance.  Filming began during the outset of the populist “Occupy” movement, and finished by joining the voices seeking to re-contextualize popular revolt within our life-world as a movement to decolonize, un-occupy, and re-inhabit the living Earth through deep understanding and identification with our specific bioregions.

Confirmed 2012 Fall Tour:

More information and an updated list of events can be found through the Cascadia Matters website at: http://cascadiamatters.org/events. In addition, a tentative schedule for other locations can be found at the bottom of the page. If you’d like to get involved helping set up a film screening in your city or region, you can contact them directly at: cascadiamatters@gmail.com

Trailer 1:

<embed src="http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id=38078416" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="400" height="300"></embed>

 

Trailer 2:

<embed src="http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id=38078416" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="400" height="300"></embed>

Occupied Cascadia trailer 2 from Cascadia Matters on Vimeo.

 

Tentative 2012 Film Screening Schedule:

  • Saturday October 6-Bend
  • Sunday October 7-Portland
  • Monday October 8-Seattle
  • Tuesday October 9 – Ellensburg
  • Wednesday October 10- Lakewood
  • Thursday October 11- Bellingham
  • Saturday October 13- Lopez Island
  • Sunday October 14- Victoria
  •  Monday October 15- Quadra Island
  • Tuesday October 16- Tofino
  • Wednesday October 17- Squamish
  • Thursday October 18- Vancouver City
  • Friday October 19- Penticton
  • Saturday October 20- Kelowna
  • Sunday October 21 – Kamloops
  • Monday October 22 – Nelson
  • Tuesday 23- Sandpoint
  • Wednesday October 24- Spokane
  • Thurdsay October 25- Polson
  • Friday October 26- Missoula
  • Saturday October 27- Pablo, MT
  • Sunday October 28- Jackson
  • Monday October 29- Bosie
  • Tuesday October 30- Ashland
  • Wednesday October 31- Yreka
  • Thursday November 1- Orleans
  • Friday November 2- Happy Camp
  • Saturday November 3 – Arcata
  • Sunday November 4- Petrolia
  • Monday November 5 – Crescent City
  •  Thursday November 8 – Eugene
  • Friday November 9- Corvallis
  • Saturday November 10- Portland
  • Sunday November 11 – Hood River
  • Wednesday November 14- Olympia
  • November 15 – Seattle
  • November 16-25- Vancouver City